Ay Der from Up Nort’!

So. So much for updating you, my dear reader(s?), about the fun stuff quickly. But never fear! I am back! Since my last post, I have: met my brother’s gf’s parents, spent time with my besties in beautiful Bozeman, sprained my ankle, spent time with my godparents and cousins in Fargo, ND, driven to WI to unload the junk in my car, chilled with my parents, read an ungodly amount of FF instead of unpacking said junk, visited the doctor SO MANY TIMES to finish up my medical stuff for the Peace Corps, and facetimed with a friend!

Outcomes?

Abby’s parents are adorable and kind. Good people, just like their daughter. Also, lots of handy knowledge about building things and understanding about teaching others to do said things, rather than taking over themselves.

Besties are the best. While it was a bummer that everyone from the group couldn’t be there, getting to spend time with C and A and L was absolutely necessary, especially given that I hadn’t seen A and L in a long freakin’ time. We went to Yellowstone, we watched three seasons of the Great British Bake Off, and we spent a lot of time just being together. C got to stay for the whole 10 days, so we got to go back to Yellowstone and saw 5 bears! And a bison wearing a flower crown like he was at Coachella!


I sprained my ankle i̶n̶ ̶m̶y̶ ̶b̶r̶o̶t̶h̶e̶r̶’̶s̶ ̶d̶r̶i̶v̶e̶w̶a̶y̶ ̶r̶i̶g̶h̶t̶ ̶b̶e̶f̶o̶r̶e̶ ̶w̶e̶ ̶w̶e̶r̶e̶ ̶g̶o̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶g̶o̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶a̶ ̶h̶i̶k̶e̶ falling off a moose while riding it over a waterfall. It’s been a little over three weeks and is all healed up now, but unfortunately it meant that rather than going for hikes. C and I had to attempt to visit every brewery in Bozeman. It was a struggle, but we made it work. 😉

My godparents are great, y’all! My aunt is literally a younger and sassier version of my mom, and my uncle meets her sass and raises her terrible SciFi movies. It was great to see my youngest younger cousin and my oldest younger cousin (who had such exciting news to share!) so the only one I didn’t see was my middle younger cousin. I’m trying to see all of the family members before I leave for Tonga. Gotta catch ’em all!

Wisconsin has so many bugs. Too many bugs. Mosquitoes, whyyyyyyy??? My parents are great though. Mom had finished her 3rd chemo treatment when I arrived, and was pretty exhausted from that. She has just enough energy to go for a pontoon ride every day. I got some quality time with my dog, who’s old and deaf and has cancer in her mouth, yet will still open the pantry when she feels it’s time for her to have a snack. I unloaded my stuff into the cabin, and now I need to unpack the stuff and repack it for Tonga. Trying to figure out what I’ll need is driving me a little nuts. So stressful! Meanwhile I’ve been procrastinating by reading and “running errands” aka going and getting ice cream.


You have K to thank for me finally putting up another post. We facetimed earlier this week, and agreed to send each other our writing to keep us both on track. I’m trying to convince her to make a blog/write a book, since literally every conversation we have leaves me pondering life. She’s the best! Her book rec to me is Art and Fear, by David Bayles and Ted Orland. Stay tuned for observations and review!

This medical stuff is driving me crazy! I submitted everything I needed to submit way back in March/April, but now I’m finding out that some of the blood tests I submitted were wrong. Not a big deal, except for the fact that I’m no longer in NM and so trying to find a doc that takes my insurance and doesn’t give me the run around is awful. And it turns out that they tested for the wrong thing again! &*(#$^(! Now I’m stressing about it, and hoping that I can get it done before staging starts, because this could delay me going. I’m frustrated that it took them until July to realize that something wasn’t right, and I’m frustrated that my old doc gave this local doc orders for the wrong test so it still isn’t right. UGH! consciousness

Oh well, at least I have season 1 of Xena: Warrior Princess to take my mind off of things.

Bis Dann!

Leave a Reply

